Thoughts

Home

It’s been a little more than a month since I’ve moved to London and I have to tell you, it is taking quite a bit getting used to. I’ve been away from home before, but never this long – two weeks, three weeks at most. Even then I’d always find solace in the fact that at the end of those three weeks I’ll be on a plane home. Back to all things familiar. And it’s starting to sink in that I’m going to be here for awhile.

Don’t get me wrong; I absolutely love that I’m in London! I’m excited for all the opportunities that have yet to be presented to me. All the friends I have yet meet. All the memories I have yet to make. And I love the fact that I know at the end of my three year stint here, I’ll go back much more independent, (hopefully) more intelligent and ready to kick some butt.

I knew coming here, some days I’d definitely feel homesick. That I’d miss our local delicacies (oh god, I would kill for some chicken rice right now). That I’d get upset that I couldn’t join in all the fun my friends were having. That I’d miss out on quality time with my family. That I’d miss the Chinese New Year celebrations. That I’d feel insecure about people forgetting me and get used to not having me around; that when I get home I wouldn’t have anyone there. That some days I’d feel lonely; even though I’ve made some great friends in just three short weeks.

But when those days happen I remind myself about something a good friend once told me:

The people who really, really love you will always know how you are. If it isn’t excellent intuition, it’s making an effort to find out.

And it’s absolutely true. I don’t think there’ll ever be a time when I’m not missing home, but knowing that my friends and family in Singapore are always there for me really helps. Their messages, phone calls and Facetime calls never fail to pick me up.

You know who you guys are, thank you for always checking on me and keeping me in your thoughts. (Even if half the time it’s sending me pictures of food over Snapchat, I still appreciate the thought!)

14289963_10153993954903233_2640970878387539924_o

I can’t wait to see all your beautiful faces over Christmas!

xx

Standard

3 thoughts on “Home

  1. It’s so tough feeling homesick, and I’m glad snapchat helps. Really hope you are finding lots of places to explore – and slowly people to explore with – around London. Halloween outfits can be strangely bonding. Good luck. Meanwhile i have to admit that i’m quite jealous knowing you’ll be somewher warm at xmas! Nicola

    Like

Leave a Reply

